Local News

Published on December 27th, 2021 | by Lafayette County Sheriff


Lafayette County Law Enforcement Officers’ Training Academy Graduates New Class of 18 Officers Serving Across North Mississippi

During the first term of Sheriff Joey East, the training academy in Lafayette County was begun. Sheriff East, along with Chuck Jenkins, and many others worked tirelessly to make the academy a reality We have had two classes complete the law enforcement academy during the year 2021.

Eighteen recruits graduated on Thursday, December 16, from the Lafayette County Law Enforcement Officers’ Training Academy. The commencement ceremony was held at 1 pm at the Oxford Conference Center.

Graduates of the LCLEOTA will go on to serve within the following agencies:

  • Bruce Police Department
  • Marshall County Sheriff’s Office
  • Lafayette County Sheriff’s Office
  • Water Valley Police Department
  • Benton County Sheriff’s Office
  • Webster County Sheriff’s Office
  • Yalobusha County Sheriff’s Office

Lafayette County Law Enforcement Officer’s Training Academy Director Chuck Jenkins said the recruits have successfully completed 307 hours of intense academic, physical, and practical training.

“We are fortunate to now have an additional eighteen officers dedicated to the safety and protection of Mississippi residents,” Jenkins said. “Their willingness to serve their communities does not go unnoticed or unappreciated.”

The class of 2021 is only the second class to graduate from LCLEOTA since the program began in 2020. To date, 29 officers have graduated from the Lafayette County Law Enforcement Officers’ Training Academy. The next LCLEOTA class will begin in January 2022.

For more information about the Lafayette County Law Enforcements Officers’ Training Academy contact Chuck Jenkins at lcleoatraining@gmail.com.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

The Office of Sheriff is a four year term filled through an at-large election process. Duties of the Sheriff involve two primary areas; law enforcement of the county and administrative. The law enforcement duties are to keep the peace in Lafayette County while administrative duties consist primarily of serving as the county jailor. Due to the growth of Lafayette County, the Sheriff Department now employs 26 deputies working four 12 hour shifts.

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑