Local Cinema

Published on March 3rd, 2015 | by Nature Humphries


Ron Tibbett Audience Winner and Best of Oxford goes on the road

Oxford, Miss. – The Oxford Film Festival is proud to announce the winner of this year’s Ron Tibbett Audience Award is the narrative short The Gunfighter, directed by Eric Kissack and narrated by Nick Offerman.

“The film averaged one of the highest scores of the festival in several years and was a joy to program,” Michelle Emanuel said.
A full listing of Hoka winners is available on the festival’s website at www.oxfordfilmfest.com.

Winners and festival favorites will be shown this weekend in Ocean Springs as the festival takes to the road. The Best of Oxford Film Festival will screen at The Mary C. O’Keefe Cultural Center thanks to the generous support of the R&B Feder Charitable Foundation for the Beaux Arts.

The film presentation will begin Friday night at 6 pm and end at 11pm. Saturday’s presentation will begin at 12 noon and run thru 11pm.


6:00-7:00 Narrative Shorts #1
“From Tribulations to Triumph,” Directed by Jake Wood. Music by Jake Wood.

I Love Art, Directed by Mac Alsfeld.

Ed is a Portal, Directed by Darrell C. Hazelrig.  

Repeater, Directed by Wade Vanover.  

The Gunfighter, Directed by Eric Kissack. AUDIENCE AWARD WINNER.

7:00-9:00 Narrative Feature Winner

Burnout, Directed by Lydia Hyslop.

9:00-10:35 Documentary Shorts #1

“Inside Your Head,” Directed by Newt Rayburn. Music by The Heard.

85% Broken, Directed by Alison Fast and Chandler Griffin.

In Ten, Directed by Melanie Addington.

Mr. X, Directed by Alex Nicholson.

The Forgotten (Los Olvidados), Directed by David Feldman. DOCUMENTARY SHORT WINNER

Big Bad Art, Directed by Ben Cannon.


12:00-1:00 Animation Hour

Zuzumi, Directed by Mengyi Xu.

Proximity, Directed by Joshua Cox. ANIMATED SHORT WINNER.

Humanexus, Directed by Ying-Fang Shen.

Between Times, Directed by Ru Kuwahata and Max Porter.

Love in the Time of March Madness, Directed by Melissa Johnson and Robertino Zambrano.

Jinxy Jenkins/Lucky Lou, Directed by Michael Bidinger and Michelle Kwon.

1:00-2:00 Mississippi Shorts Block #1

“Lord Knows I’m a Soldier,” Directed by Danny Klimetz. Music by Sean Apple.

“Statesboro Blues,” Directed by Danny Klimetz. Music by Will Echols.

Garage Sale, Directed by Meaghin Burke. MISSISSIPPI NARRATIVE WINNER.

PEAs, Directed by E.J. Carter.

Barry, Directed by Matthew Graves.

A Horror Movie, Directed by Glenn Payne.

2:00-3:45 Narrative Shorts Block #2

Moffino, Directed by Giosuè Petrone.

Bingo Night! Directed by Jordan Liebowitz.

The Department of Signs and Magical Intervention, Directed by Melissa Sweazy.

Waking Marshall Walker, Directed by Bjorn Thorstad and Gabriel Baron.

Based on Rosenthal, Directed by Stephen Kinigopoulos.

Day One, Directed by Henry Hughes. NARRATIVE SHORT WINNER.

Destroyer, Directed by Andrew Kightlinger.

4:00-5:40 Documentary Shorts Block #2

Wagonmasters, Directed by Sam Smartt and Chris Zaluski.

Crooked Candy, Directed by Andrew Rodgers.

Shirley’s Kids, Directed by Michael Paulucci.

Ironman Jackson Wingfield, Directed by Jordan Berger.

The Grand Disillusion, Directed by Pedro González Kuhn.

Jim Dickinson: The Man Behind the Console, Directed by Nan Hackman.

Bury the Show, Directed by Matthew Graves.  

6:00-7:30 Mississippi Shorts Block #2

“A Long Journey,” Directed by Shannon Cohn. Music by Leo Bud Welch.

Unquantifiable, Directed by Ed Foose.

A Mississippi Love Story, Directed by Robbie Fisher. MISSISSIPPI DOCUMENTARY WINNER.

Leadway, Directed by Robbie Fisher and Dudley Percy Olsson.

The Way I See It, Directed by Christine Dickason and Kaitlyn Barton.

Mississippi Milk, Directed by David Rogers.

A Different Kind of Festival, Directed by Ellen Phillips.

7:45-9:45 Documentary Feature Winner

Billy Mize and the Bakersfield Sound, Directed by William Saunders.

10:00-11:00 Experimental Shorts Block

Memory V: Sodankylä, Directed by Gloria Chung.

Memory VI: An Ostrich’s Eye is Bigger Than Its Brain, Directed by Gloria Chung.

On the Train to Kutná Hora and Back, Directed by Ann Deborah Levy.

The Stars and Stripes Forever in the Eternal City, Directed by Rebecca Flake.

A Perfect Day, Directed by Oguzhan Kaya. EXPERIMENTAL SHORT WINNER.

Left, Directed by Daniel Winter.

Displacements, Directed by Manuel Alvarez Diestro.

Interstates, Directed by Jeffrey Chong.

Flipping, Directed by Jin Kyu Ahn.

It Goes, Directed by Brandon Doherty.

Trailer Study #16: A Square and a Circle Talking, Directed by Brandon Doherty.

Ticket prices for Friday night are $7 per person and $15 Saturday. For Friday and Saturday together, tickets are $20 per person. Tickets can be purchased at the door or at http://themaryc.org/.

To learn more, visit www.oxfordfilmfest.com. Sponsors for the 2015 Oxford Film Festival include Donna Ruth Roberts, Blake Tartt III, Visit Oxford, Malco, Southern Documentary Project and the Yoknapatawpha Arts Council.

About the Author

Nature Humphries is Editor-in-Chief of The Local Voice. Nature is originally from Vicksburg, Mississippi, but moved to Oxford in 2004 after spending time in the United States Navy. She has also worked in the restaurant industry for many years as a server and a bartender. Nature graduated from Ole Miss in 2007 with a degree in English and Modern Languages.

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑