Local Elections

Published on June 6th, 2017 | by TLV News


Republican Candidates Win Contested Oxford Alderman Elections

With 100% of precincts reporting, Republican candidates in Oxford, Mississippi Ward 2 and Ward 6 have won their elections by wide margins.

Incumbent Republican Alderman Jason Bailey won 62% of the vote, defeating Democrat Wayne Andrews, 299 to 183 in Ward 6.

First time candidate, Republican Mark Huelse won 71% of the vote in Ward 2, beating Democrat Paula Shanks, 249 to 103. 

All other wards in Oxford were uncontested and won by Democrats by default. Incumbents Janice Antonow returns to Ward 3, Ulysses Howell to Ward 4, Preston Taylor to Ward 5, and John Morgan will still be Alderman-at-Large.

Democrat Rick Addy won his first full term today in Ward 1. He had previously won a special election last year after Alderman Jay Hughes vacated his position on the Board of Aldermen. 

No Republican or other opposition candidates ran in Oxford’s general election.

Current Ward 2 Alderwoman Robyn Tannehill ran for Mayor of Oxford after Pat Patterson declined to run for reelection. As a Democrat, she was unopposed in the general election.

Candidates will take office on July 3, 2017. The Local Voice Ligature


Oxford General Election on June 6: Ward 2 and 6 Aldermen to be Decided

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

The Local Voice is a bimonthly entertainment guide and newspaper based in Oxford, Mississippi, covering and distributed in North Central Mississippi, including Oxford, Ole Miss, Taylor, Abbeville, Water Valley, Lafayette County, Yalobusha County, and parts of Panola County, Marshall County, and Tupelo . The Local Voice is distributed free to over 255 locations in North Mississippi and also available as a full color PDF download worldwide on the internet.

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑
  • Thank you for using TheLocalVoice.net!
  • Subscribe to The Local Voice Weekly Dispatch and Receive Weekly Email Updates Oxford Restaurant Menus
    Click Here for Food & Drink Specials plus Entertainment Tonight

  • Download the current Local Voice PDF


    Looking for Puzzle Solutions? They’re inside The Local Voice PDF!

  • Oxford Music Playlist – 2017

  • Follow The Local Voice

  • TheLocalVoice.net Categories

  • Top Posts & Pages

Advertisment ad adsense adlogger