Local News

Published on January 18th, 2023 | by Oxford Police Department


Oxford Police Department Announces Award Winners

The Oxford Police Department would like to congratulate all of the award winners at the 2023 Oxford  Peace Officers Officer of the Year Banquet! We would especially like to congratulate Corporal Devin Martin for winning the 2022 Officer of the Year award.  

“This year’s Officer of the Year Banquet was a great event. We were able to recognize several people and  show appreciation for their hard work this past year. All of the employees nominated were more than worthy  of the recognition. We are truly blessed at OPD to have so many incredible people working with us,” Said  Chief Jeff McCutchen

“Devin Martin above all things is a great human. He’s a good man, a good husband and father. He cares  about people, and he cares about doing a good job for the City of Oxford. Devin has faced adversity in his  life, yet it has not changed who he is or his priorities. I’m proud to serve with Devin, and I’m thankful that we  have him at OPD.” 

Corporal Martin, an officer with OPD for seven years, is the 26th winner of the R.L. “Bob” Jones Memorial  Officer of the Year Award. Corporal Martin was nominated by 2020 Officer of the Year Award winner Officer Will Hollowell.  

“I am very honored since the award is voted on by my peers within the department. It means a lot to me to  just be nominated. There was a great group of officers that were nominated this year and all were deserving,”  said Corporal Martin. 

“I do not feel like I do anything special. I show up to work, do the job, and go home. It costs absolutely  nothing to be a decent human being. You never know what someone is going through or what state of mind a  person might be in. I just try to show everyone respect and be understanding of what they are going through.  I would like to thank my past and current supervisors for their support and mentorship, our administration for  always being supportive, and most importantly I would like to thank my wife for putting up with the crazy work  schedule and always being supportive of my endeavors.”  

The award winners in the group photo are (in order from left to right):
Chelsea Hardy – E:9 Service Award
Captain Alan Ivy – Community Service Award
Lieutenant Alex Moffett – Supervisor of the Year Award
Chief Jeff McCutchen – Leadership Achievement Award
Corporal Devin Martin – Officer of the Year 
Corporal Peter Heim – Field Training Officer of the Year 
Officer Justin Mitchell – Newcomer of the Year Award
(Not Pictured) Officer Brandon Byrd – SWAT Officer of the Year
Corporal Devin Martin – Officer of the Year 
Inmate Dies Inside the Lafayette County Detention Center in Oxford, Mississippi
Oxford Utilities Announces Rolling Blackouts in Oxford, Mississippi on Christmas Eve

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author

The Oxford Police Department is housed 715 Molly Barr Road. The department has more than 70 full-time officers and staff and provides a wide range of protection and enforcement services. The Police Department has a community-oriented policing philosophy and provides around-the-clock patrols. Other services include crime prevention programs, such as Neighborhood Watch and D.A.R.E., as well as specialized units including Mounted Patrol, K-9 Unit, DUI Enforcement and the City Dispatch. Crime Reports provided to The Local Voice come directly from the Oxford Police Department.

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑