Local Elections

Published on June 9th, 2021 | by Newt Rayburn


Oxford, Mississippi Municipal Election Results, June 8, 2021

Municipal Election Day June 8, 2021 in Oxford, Mississippi will be remembered for the heavy rain, but a torrential downpour didn’t stop the vote.

Some 2,246 registered locals traversed rain-soaked roads and flash flooding to cast their ballots in Oxford’s municipal election. Another 836 voted by absentee ballot.

Mayor Robyn Tannehill will serve another term after handily defeating her opponents.

Tannehill gathered an astounding 83% of the 3,082 votes cast in Oxford, walloping Independent candidate Brandon Pettis (319 votes, 11%) and Republican Kyle Davis (154 votes, 5%).

In the only other race voted upon by all of Oxford, Alderman At-Large John Morgan won re-election, receiving 59% of the votes (1,792). Morgan’s opponent, Democrat Linda Porter Bishop received 40% (1,224 votes).

From Ward II, 917 people voted. Republican incumbent Mark Huelse won a decisive victory receiving 70% of his constituents’ votes (641), defeating Democrat challenger Afton Thomas, who received 30% (275 votes).

In Ward VI, 539 people voted. Mayor ProTem Jason Bailey won re-election, defeating Democrat challenger Miguel Centellas. Bailey received 67% of the vote (359) to Centellas’ 33% (180 votes).

After Janice Antonow retired as Alderman of Ward III, first-time office seekers Brian Hyneman (Democrat) and McQueen Miscamble (Republican) registered for election. Attorney Brian Hyneman emerged victorious by securing 321 votes (65%) to veterinarian McQueen Miscamble’s 35% (173 votes). 494 Ward III voters braved the weather to vote.

Ward V lived up to its reputation for low turnout, with only 176 on record. Democrat incumbent Preston Taylor received 130 of those votes (74%), while Republican businessman Barney Chadwick brought out 45 votes (26%). Taylor is elected to his sixth term as Alderman for Ward V.

In Wards I and IV, both Rick Addy and Kesha Howell Atkinson ran unopposed and are re-elected. From Ward I, 654 locals voted, while in Ward IV, 215 locals voted.

There are 42 affidavit ballots to be counted, but the tally is not expected to affect the outcome of any race.

Unofficial totals for Municipal Elections in Oxford, Mississippi, including absentee ballots but not 42 affidavit ballots:


Robyn Tannehill 2,520
Brandon Pettis 319
Kyle Davis 154
Write-in 32

Alderman At-Large

John Morgan 1,792
Linda Porter Bishop 1,224
Write-in 9

Ward I

Rick Addy 585
Write-in 69

Ward II

Mark Huelse 641
Afton Thomas 275
Write-in 1

Ward III

Brian Hyneman 321
McQueen Miscamble 173
Write-in 0

Ward IV

Kesha Howell Atkinson 210
Write-in 5

Ward V

Preston Taylor 130
Barney Chadwick 45
Write-in 1

Ward VI

Jason Bailey 359
Miguel Centellas 180
Write-in 0

Affidavit ballots will be counted tomorrow.

We Did the Math, and Here's the Percentage of Registered Voters Who Cast a Ballot in Oxford's Municipal Election
The Race Is On: Q&A with Candidates for Ward V Alderman of Oxford, Mississippi, Preston Taylor and Barney Chadwick

Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

Newt Rayburn founded THE LOCAL VOICE in March of 2006. Previously, Newt was Editor of PROFANE EXISTENCE in Minneapolis, and Art Director for Ole Miss' LIVING BLUES magazine. Newt won a National Magazine Award in 1999 for his SOUTHERN MUSIC ISSUE with THE OXFORD AMERICAN. A seventh-generation Lafayette County, Mississippian, Newt Rayburn's alter ego—Neuter Cooter—lead the Mississippi band THE COOTERS to Rocknoll Glory across the USA from 1993-2018. Newt is a family man who also is a publisher, photographer, writer, musician, landlord, and Civil War enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑