Local Athletics

Published on November 3rd, 2021 | by University of Mississippi


Ole Miss’ Mac Brown Named Wuerffel Trophy Semifinalist

Senior Punter Has Raised Over $140,000 for ALS Research

For the second straight year, Ole Miss punter Mac Brown was named a semifinalist for the Wuerffel Trophy, the organization announced Wednesday, November 3, 2021.
The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually to the Football Bowl Subdivision player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.
Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback from the University of Florida, Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society, and inspire greater service in the world.
When he was in seventh grade, Brown had a modest goal of raising $500 for a childhood friend’s dad who had been diagnosed with ALS. Along with a group of neighborhood friends, Brown started a lemonade stand, Awesome Lemonade Stand, in Eden Prairie, Minnesota, to help his friend’s family.
10 years later, that $500 goal has ballooned to over $140,000 raised by Brown and his friends for ALS research. The Awesome Lemonade Stand is held on a late day in June and the 2021 fundraiser raised nearly $40,000 alone.
Besides the Awesome Lemonade Stand, Brown has participated in many community service activities around the Oxford and Mississippi area including: Student-Athlete Advisory Council, Sweetheart for residents at The Blake in Oxford, Reading with the Rebels, Hope to Dream, Special Olympics, plus much more.
Brown, the 2020-21 Brad Davis Community Service Leader of the Year, has averaged 46.3 yards per punt this season for the Rebels. Nine of Brown’s 23 punts went for more than 50 yards.
The formal announcement of the 2021 recipient will be made on Dec. 9 on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN and the presentation of the 2021 Wuerffel Trophy will occur on February 25, 2022 at the 53rd All Sports Association Awards Banquet in Fort Walton Beach.
Former Ole Miss linebacker D.T. Shackelford became the first Rebel to win the prestigious award when he took home Wuerffel honors in 2014.
Mac Brown, Ole Miss, senior, punter
Mike Caliendo, Western Michigan, senior, offensive line
Sean Clifford, Penn State, senior, quarterback
Nakobe Dean, Georgia, junior, linebacker
James Empey, BYU, junior, offensive line
Patrick Fields, Oklahoma, senior, defensive back
Mo Hasan, USC, senior, quarterback
Elijah Hicks, Cal, senior, defensive back
Brock Hoffman, Virginia Tech, junior, offensive line
Kekaula Kaniho, Boise State, senior, defensive back
Isaiah Sanders, Stanford, senior, quarterback
Austin Williams, Mississippi State, senior, wide receiver

#9 Ole Miss Football vs Auburn on October 30th, 2021 at Jordan-Hare Stadium in Auburn, AL. Photo by Joshua McCoy/Ole Miss Athletics
Ole Miss Esports Readies for Fourth Annual Esports Egg Bowl
New Home Dedicated at the University of Mississippi for Greek, Roman Antiquities

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

The University of Mississippi, affectionately known as Ole Miss, is Mississippi’s flagship university. A member of the elite group of R1: Doctoral Universities - Highest Research Activity by the Carnegie Classification, Ole Miss has a long history of producing leaders in public service, business, academics and the professions. Its 16 academic divisions include a major medical school; nationally recognized schools of accountancy, law and pharmacy; and an Honors College acclaimed for a blend of academic rigor, experiential learning and opportunities for community action. Acclaimed as one of the nation’s most beautiful, Ole Miss's main campus is in Oxford, which is routinely recognized as one of the nation's best college towns.

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑