Music & Shows

Published on March 2nd, 2014 | by TLV News


End of All Music 2014 Record Store Day Cassette Compilation

PrintOxford, Mississippi’s only record store, The End of All Music, has a special release coming April 19, 2014 for Record Store Day.  Instead of just selling records all day we decided to make something of our own for the community.  So we enlisted some of our favorite bands in town to make a compilation of songs for a limited-edition cassette. The compilation features 19 tracks and clocks in at just over an hour (see below for full track listing and info).   There are new songs, covers, and old favorites from Bass Drum of Death, Dent May, Dead Gaze, Flight, Talbot Adams, The Unwed Teenage Mothers, Young Buffalo, Sleeping Bulls, Martin Prophet, Plume, E Meters, ILLLS, Sean O’Hara, Water Liars, Jake Fussell, Prehistoric Bird, Bella Machine, Tyler Keith, and Greater Pyrenees.  Some of these bands are longtime Oxford staples and have been putting out fresh records throughout the 1990s and 2000s, while others are just beginning to play around the state with promising results.

Oxford has long been home to a fertile music scene and this compilation hammers that idea home.  And maybe the best aspect of the release is that all proceeds from the sale of the cassette will go to MusiCares—the excellent musician assistance charity run by the Recording Academy of America. 

The cassette will be released in a limited number of 250 copies and will only be available at The End of All Music on Record Store Day April 19, 2014.  A digital version will be available following Record Store Day.

Please check for up-to-date info regarding this release or call David at (662) 281-1909

For more info on MusiCares please see their website,

Track List:
Side A-

Unwed Teenage Mothers “I Am Yours”

Talbot Adams “Oh My Girl”

Young Buffalo “New Beat”

Plume “Bushay Kushay”

Flight “Kapounding”*

Dent May “Townies Only”

E-Meters “Diamond Beaches”

Tyler Keith “Do it for Johnny”

Sleeping Bulls “The Dread Account”

Martin Prophet “You Know? (tape edit)”

Side B-

ILLLS “Lender”

Prehistoric Bird “Toney Brake”

Bella Machine “June Heat”

Sean O’Hara “Timewave One”

Sean Kirkpatrick “Confidant”

Bass Drum of Death “Black Don’t Glow”

Water Liars “Hanging Gardens”

Dead Gaze “Charley’s Girl”*

Jake Fussell “Stockade Blues”*

*all songs written by the artists except “Kapounding” (written by A. Arthur), “Charley’s Girl” (written by Lou Reed), and “Stockade Blues” (traditional)

mastered by Bronson Tew at Dial Back Sound

Delta Dynamite: Local Musician Keith Sanders (Full Interview)
The End of All Music Hosts Record Store Day 2014

Tags: , , , , , ,

About the Author

The Local Voice is a bimonthly entertainment guide and newspaper based in Oxford, Mississippi, covering and distributed in North Central Mississippi, including Oxford, Ole Miss, Taylor, Abbeville, Water Valley, Lafayette County, Yalobusha County, and parts of Panola County, Marshall County, and Tupelo . The Local Voice is distributed free to over 255 locations in North Mississippi and also available as a full color PDF download worldwide on the internet.

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑
  • Click Here for Food & Drink Specials Tonight
    Click Here for Entertainment this week
  • Follow The Local Voice

  • Categories

  • Top Posts & Pages