Local Favorites Awards

Published on January 8th, 2016 | by TLV News


Local People Winners: The Local Voice’s Townies Awards, 2016


Favorite Actor: Johnny Mcphail


1. Johnny McPhail

2. Susan McPhail

3. Connor King

HM: Greg Earnest, Jennifer Pierce Mathus


1. Laquon Treadwell

2. Chad Kelly

3. Robert Nkemdiche

HM: Eli Manning, Archie Manning, Denzel Nkemdiche, Ericka Sisk

AttorneyAttorney Kevin

1. Kevin Fry

2. Jay Carmean

3. Dee Hobbs

HM: James B Justice, George Haymans, Josh Turner, Reah Tannehill


1. John Grisham

2. Tom Franklin

3. Ace Atkins

HM: Neil White, William Faulkner, Chris Offutt, Jack Pendarvis, Julie Cantrell, Larry Brown


1. Buck Walden (Rib Cage)

2. Randy Yates (Ajax)

3. Erika Lipe (Wine Bar)

HM: Lee Harris (Funkys), Brooke Krizbai (Volta), Scott Caradine (Proud Larrys)

Clergy Member

1. Father Joe (St. John the Evangelist Catholic Church)

2. Ally Cartwright

3. Eddie Rester

HM: Pat Ward, John Semmes, Ann Whitaker, Fish Robinson


Favorite Coach: Hugh Freeze


1. Hugh Freeze

2. Andy Kennedy

3. Johnny Hill

HM: Mike Bianco, Coach Patton

Computer Nerd

1. Kyle McGreavy (Express Computer)

2. Cambino’s Computer Shop

3. Nathan Robbins

HM: Aaron Harris

Favorite Celebrity Sighting: Katy Perry

Celebrity Sighting

1. Katy Perry

2. Morgan Freeman

3. Eli Manning

HM: Archie Manning, James Franco, McLovin, Tim Tebow

alex thiel

Favorite Newspaper Columnist: Alex Thiel

Newspaper Columnist

1. Alex Thiel (The Local Voice)

2. Newt Rayburn (The Local Voice)

3. Sierra Mannie (Daily Mississippian)

HM: Alyssa Schnugg (The Oxford Eagle), Suanne Strider (freelance)


1. Andrew Ross (Ross Family Dental Clinic)

2. Walker Swaney

3. Hal haney

HM: Jason Farese, Stephen Wooten, Earl Stubblefield


1. Dr. David Coon (Urgent Care Clinic of Oxford)

2. Jeff Dennis

3. Mitt Hobbs

HM: Mona Castle, Cooper Mcintosh, Dr. Cooper Terry, Dr. Dabbs


1. Bubba Mize (Mize Electric)

2. Gary Goodballet

3. Marc Adamec

HM: Rick’s Pluming and Electric


1. Ricky Mooney (Mooney Plumbing)

2. Gary Goodballet

3. David Wilkinson

nurse gentry webb

Favorite Nurse: Gentry Webb


1. Gentry Webb

2. Rachel Sledge

3. Sharon Upton

Professor or Teacher

1. Summer Husbands

2. Cynthia Joyce

3. Dewey Knight

HM: Jody Holland, Ken Sufka, Louis Bourgeois, Samir Husni, Tad Wilkes

Public Servant

1. Joey East (Chief of Police)

2. OPD Twitter: @OxfordPolice

3. Oxford Police Department

HM: Hildon Sessums


1. Mark Cleary

2. Brooke Worthy

3. Clayton Faggert

vern alger

Favorite Taxi Driver and Favorite Pool Shark: Vernon Alger

HM: Blake Cannon, Lauren Cleary, Lee Lee Desler, Sharon grace, Wanda Poole

Taxi Driver

1. Vernon Alger (Angel Taxi)

2. Austin Blake (Austin Taxi)

3. Phillip Howard (Hotty Toddy Taxi)

HM: Moon Dog

TownieRon Sharpio

1. Ron Shapiro

2. Chico

3. Earnest Carothers

HM: Trent Coleman, Carter Wilkes, Zerk Wilson The Local Voice Ligature

"Local Faves" Winners: The Local Voice's Townies Awards, 2016
Local Arts and Music Winners: The Local Voice's Townies Awards, 2016

About the Author

The Local Voice is a bimonthly entertainment guide and newspaper based in Oxford, Mississippi, covering and distributed in North Central Mississippi, including Oxford, Ole Miss, Taylor, Abbeville, Water Valley, Lafayette County, Yalobusha County, and parts of Panola County, Marshall County, and Tupelo . The Local Voice is distributed free to over 255 locations in North Mississippi and also available as a full color PDF download worldwide on the internet.

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑
  • Click Here for Food & Drink Specials Tonight
    Click Here for Entertainment this week
    The Townies 2023 Local Favorites Awards Results
  • TheLocalVoice.net Categories

  • Top Posts & Pages